RSS Feed

Everyone should enter this

Posted on

I’m not usually that interested in competitions, but this one’s brilliant – I’m planning on entering (did last year too), but even just seeing the winners is great.  It created some real beauties last year.

http://www.vintage-books.co.uk/about-us/jonathan-cape/Graphicshortstoryprize/

This art form is alive and growing all the time. Having done my undergrad thesis on why comics are art, this gives me a fidgety desire to write “I told you so” letters to anyone giving a rave review of a particular comic, or the medium in general. Rachel Cooke in the Observer today, for example.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/booksblog/2010/jun/13/graphic-novels-rachel-cooke

But then I realise that’s the behaviour of a basement-dwelling, change-hating, you-can’t-touch-my-stuff nerd, and I desist. Because, actually, it warms the heart to see comics getting their moment (or, I hope, their age) in the cultural sun.

Leave a Reply

